Back to Stories

Switzerland wins 68th Eurovision Song Contest

11 May 2024
This is a close up photo shot of Nemo from Switzerland holding the Eurovision Song Contest trophy after winning the Grand Final
Nemo from Switzerland holding the Eurovision Song Contest trophy after winning the Grand Final in Malmö

Switzerland has won the 68th Eurovision Song Contest with the song 'The Code' performed by Nemo. They are the first non-binary winner of the competition.
This is Switzerland’s first win since 1988, when Céline Dion won the competition. It is their third win overall, with their other win coming in 1956, at the first ever Eurovision Song Contest.  

Twenty-five countries took part in the Grand Final of the world’s largest live music event, hosted by EBU Member, SVT, on Saturday 11 May in Malmö.   

The winning song took the prize with 591 points. In second place was Croatia with 547 points, represented by Baby Lasagna, singing Rim Tim Tagi Dim. Third place went to Ukraine, with alyona alyona and Jerry Heil singing Teresa & Maria, scoring 453 points.   

Following the performances of the 25 Grand Finalists, the results of the juries in the 37 participating nations who voted on Friday’s dress rehearsal were given out, with Switzerland leading after the jury scorers. 

This was followed by a sequence where viewers’ televotes for each competing country were combined and added to the scoreboard resulting in an exciting finale that saw Switzerland triumph as the winner.  

An estimated audience of over 160 million will have seen this year's Contest which was broadcast live in the 37 participating countries and online on YouTube. The 25 finalists performed live in front of an audience of over 8,000 inside the Malmö Arena.   

The roll-call of Grand Finalists was: Armenia (1TV),  Austria (ORF), Croatia (HRT), Cyprus (CyBC), Estonia (ERR), Finland (YLE), France (France Télévisions), Georgia (GPB), Germany (ARD), Greece (ERT), Ireland (RTE), Israel (KAN), Italy (RAI), Latvia (LTV), Lithuania (LRT), Luxembourg (RTL), Norway (NRK), Portugal (RTP), Serbia (RTS), Slovenia (RTVSLO), Spain (RTVE), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRG SSR), Ukraine (Suspilne Ukraine), United Kingdom (BBC).  

Martin Österdahl, the EBU's Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said:  

“We are incredibly grateful to SVT for their hard work and commitment in hosting this year’s event. For the third time, Malmö opened its heart to us and we thank them for the warm welcome given to everyone who was part of the 2024 Contest.  

“Our congratulations go to Nemo and their excellent performance of 'The Code' that is added to the illustrious list of Eurovision winners. SVT and Malmö, once again, were excellent in producing the Eurovision Song Contest and everyone who was part of this year’s event, at home or in the arena, will have wonderful memories.”  
The Grand Final was opened by a wonderful Flag Parade featuring all 25 competing artists.  

After all songs had been performed, iconic Swedish pop group Alcazar reunited for one night only to open the interval with their hit song “Crying at the Discotheque”.   

Former Eurovision winners Carola (1991), Charlotte Perrelli (1999) and Conchita Wurst (2014) performed an homage to ABBA, celebrating 50 years since the Swedish group won the 1974 Eurovision Song Contest with "Waterloo".  

Eurovision 2023 winner Loreen also performed before it was time to call in results from the juries across the participating countries, followed by the televoting points.  

The Eurovision Song Contest is a large-scale, complex, and technically challenging production, involving over 230 staff to operate the broadcast. Approximately 1,000 square metres of LED is included in the set, with 10 media servers running their content. 2,168 lightning fixtures bring the arena to life, while nine sound desks control the audio output for the audience and broadcast.  

The 68th Eurovision Song Contest was produced by SVT after Loreen’s victory in the 2023 Contest, held in Liverpool on behalf of Ukraine, in May 2023.  

The full list and profiles of participants, with photos, quotes and behind-the-scenes stories can be found on the official website,  

Relevant links and documents